Post Date: November 6, 2018

And The Winners Are…

On Friday, November 2nd, nearly 200 members and friends gathered at the Royal Tropical Institute in Amsterdam for the Workplace Pride 2018 Leadership Awards Gala. Hosted in the spectacular Marble Hall, guests were treated to a variety of entertainment, fine dining and awards celebrations.

The annual Awards Gala singles out those individuals and organizations who have committed and continue to commit their time and effort to creating workplaces where LGBTI can be themselves. The highlight of the evening is the announcement of the top scorers of the Workplace Pride 2018 Global Benchmark annual survey. These represent the most LGBTI-friendly organizations in the world and their leadership is crucial to making change in countries and cultures where it can be very difficult to be yourself at work. Full details of the 2018 Global Benchmark Results can be seen in link below to the “New Horizons’s Magazine: Global Benchmark Edition”. 

The tone of diversity, acceptance and respect was kicked off by an energetic dance performance by the House of Vineyard and the many guests who had fun with this year’s theme of “Black Tie Masquerade”. Renowned violinist Ute Apfelstedt made it come all together with her passionate renditions of Venetian classics.

As in previous years, the awards were divided over several categories with well deserving winners: 

Most Engaged Network


Most Effective Ally

Joke Brandt (Ministry of Foreign Affairs)

Best Media Representation


Most Active Volunteer (2 winners)

Martha McDevitt-Pugh (ING)

Bram Masseur (Arcadis)

Global Benchmark Top Scorers

Ambassadors: Aegon – Cisco – SAP – Dow – Sodexo – NautaDutilh

Advocates: IBM – Shell – Accenture

In addition, for the first time ever, Workplace Pride granted the Living Legend Award to no other than Boris Dittrich who has been on the forefront of the national and international LGBTI movement  for several decades.

Workplace Pride would like to congratulate all winners and thank you, your fellow nominees, and all attending members and friends for help making this another unforgettable Leadership Awards Gala!

The Workplace Pride Team